Quick Answer: How Much Does It Cost To Change A Child’S Last Name In SC?

How old do you have to be to change your name in South Carolina?

Any individual eighteen (18) years of age or older can petition for a name change.

Citizens of South Carolina who are on the sex offender registry, in custody of the DOC, listed on the DSS Central Registry of Child Abuse and Neglect, or who have a criminal record can still apply for a name change..

How do I change my first and last name?

How to Change Your First Name LegallyObtain a petition for name change form. … Complete the petition. … Assemble any necessary supporting documents. … File the petition with the court clerk. … Schedule a hearing and publish notice. … Attend the hearing.

How much does it cost to change your last name in SC?

For an adult, changing a name involves a $150 filing fee with the court for the petition.

Why would a judge deny a name change?

In most cases, courts approve name change applications. However, there are certain scenarios under which the court might not grant your name change request, including situations involving fraud, certain felony convictions, objections, minor children, and name changes that could result in confusion or harm.

How can I change my child’s surname without fathers consent?

Generally, you will not be able to change your child’s surname without the permission of the other parent if:the other parent is listed on the Child’s Birth Certificate, and.the other parent has ‘Shared Parental Responsibility’ for the child,

What kind of rights does a father have in South Carolina?

50% of children born in South Carolina are born to unmarried parents. When a child is born out-of-wedlock in South Carolina, the biological father has no legal rights or connection to the child until he establishes legal paternity.

How do I change my last name in SC?

What forms do you need? You’ll need to fill out SCDMV Form 4057 (Application for a Name and/or Address Change) and Form 447-NC (Application for a Driver’s License, Beginner’s Permit, or Identification Card). Bring along documentation of your name change (your certified marriage license or court order) too.

How do I change my child’s last name in SC?

What is the Process for Changing Your Child’s Name?The parent files a petition with the county court requesting the name change. … Pay the filing fee.Include the other parent as a party to the case. … A guardian ad litum will be appointed by the court. … The guardian will submit their report and recommendation to the court.More items…•

Can I change my son’s last name without his father’s consent in SC?

If one parent will not agree to have a child’s name changed, the other parent can file papers to request the change. The non-consenting parent must be served with copies of the name change papers and given a chance to object. A judge may or may not grant a child’s name change without the other parent’s consent.

How do you go about changing your child’s last name?

Fill out your court forms. … Have your forms reviewed. … Make 3 copies of all your forms. … File your forms with the court clerk. … Serve the other parent of your child. … Publish the Order to Show Cause for Change of Name (If Required) … Go to your court hearing. … Get your Decree Changing Name from the court.

How much does it cost to change a baby last name?

As of 2013, the Child Name Change Costs in California to file is $435 in most California Counties. A few Superior Courts charge $35 to $45 more than that to file the Petition. Filing costs are the same whether you’re Petitioning to change 1 child’s name or many.

How does one change their name legally?

Steps to Legally Change Your Name Petition to change your name by filling out a name change form, an order to show cause for legally changing your name, and a decree to legally change your name. Take these forms to the court clerk and file them along with your state’s required filing fees. … Use your new name.